magsmuse 1st birthday ~ celebrated with St John of the Cross

 

IMG_0888

† happy birthday magsmuse †

Today I am secretly celebrating magsmuse one year anniversary of blogging.  What better way could there possibly be, than to celebrate with two poems of Love!

 †

Last week at university, a dearest gentle lady, a fellow student who is a Catholic prison chaplain, presented me with the most perfectly wrapped gift.  We were talking the week before about my writing poetry, and my desire to look up St John of the Cross.  I had heard the Dr of the church described as a mystic, and it was this that caught my attention.

The perfect tissue wrapped dusky rose gift was for a while un-openable.  So pretty.  Such a perfect bow.  So beautifully and thoughtfully and perfectly presented.  My heart melted when I finally got around to opening it.  A very special, most poignant book of poetry. How does God know  …..  every single time?  Treasure.

The inscription in the front read;  God Bless You, with Love.

So in celebration, I am going to leave you with two beautiful breathtaking poignant poems, which I think speak heart unto heart.  They are both new to me.  The first one was the very first (and my favourite) of all the poems in the above gift,  Twenty Poems ~ St John of the Cross.  The second poem is so very beautiful and was not in the above book but found its way to me.

I am in Love.

His heart an open wound

A lone young shepherd lived in pain
withdrawn from pleasure and contentment,
his thoughts fixed on a shepherd-girl
his heart an open wound with love.

He weeps, but not from the wound of love,
there is no pain in such affliction,
even though the heart is pierced;
he weeps in knowing he’s been forgotten.

That one thought: his shining one
has forgotten him, is such great pain
that he bows to brutal handling in a foreign land,
his heart an open wound of love.

The shepherd says: I pity the one
who draws herself back from my love
and does not seek the joy of my presence,
though my heart is an open wound with love for her.

After a long time he climbed a tree,
and spread his shining arms,
and hung by them, and died,
his heart an open wound with love.

~ St. John of the Cross

Stanzas Of The Soul

One dark night,
fired with love’s urgent longings
– ah, the sheer grace! –
I went out unseen,
my house being now all stilled.

In darkness, and secure,
by the secret ladder, disguised,
– ah, the sheer grace! –
in darkness and concealment,
my house being now all stilled.

On that glad night,
in secret, for no one saw me,
nor did I look at anything,
with no other light or guide
than the one that burned in my heart.

This guided me
more surely than the light of noon
to where he was awaiting me
– him I knew so well –
there in a place where no one appeared.

O guiding night!
O night more lovely than the dawn!
O night that has united
the Lover with his beloved,
transforming the beloved in her Lover.

Upon my flowering breast
which I kept wholly for him alone,
there he lay sleeping,
and I caressing him
there in a breeze from the fanning cedars.

When the breeze blew from the turret,
as I parted his hair,
it wounded my neck
with its gentle hand,
suspending all my senses.

I abandoned and forgot myself,
laying my face on my Beloved;
all things ceased; I went out from myself,
leaving my cares
forgotten among the lilies.

So beautiful.

St John of the Cross, pray for us †

Happy 1st birthday, mags x

About mags

Beloved apostle of His Soul x
This entry was posted in books, Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to magsmuse 1st birthday ~ celebrated with St John of the Cross

  1. Meadowsage says:

    Happy Birthday Dearest One, beautiful and uplifting as ever xxx

  2. Stephanie Jill Rudd says:

    Sorry its late-I was away down in Walsingham on retreat and pilgrimage…Happy Birthday Dear One, and may you keep on blogging, you fill the days with sunshine and love.

Leave a Reply

